Common Land and Town and Village Greens

Cumbria County Council is now one of nine Commons Registration Authorities to be a pilot authority for the implementation of Part 1 of the Commons Act 2006 that will supersede the Commons Registration Act 1965.

Part 1 of the 2006 Act updates the registration system and makes provision for:

  • Applications to amend the Common Land and Town and Village Green Registers to bring them up to date, so that they become (and con
  • tinue to be) a reliable record of the extent of land and rights
  • Rectification of certain mistakes and omissions made when the Registers were opened in the late 1960’s; and
  • Transitional period applications and proposals to reflect events which took place after 1970 but before the beginning of the transitional period, which could have been registered but were not

This is a four year transitional period beginning on 15 December 2014 and applications can be made from this date.

Below is the list of the Hayton Village Greens and Common Land


Heads Nook Village Green has now been altered to indicate it is located in Hayton Parish.

Please contact your local councillor or the Clerk if you have any suggestions.